The Seven Disciplines of Gymnastics

  1. Men’s Artistic Gymnastics: Daring skills of strength and power for men and boys on six apparatus.
  2. Women’s Artistic Gymnastics: Expressive and powerful skills for women and girls on four apparatus.
  3. Rhythmic Gymnastics: Stylish control and flexibility while skilfully manipulating hand-held apparatus.
  4. Trampoline Gymnastics: Aerial awareness at its peak for highflying men, women, boys and girls.
  5. Aerobic Gymnastics: Fast and dynamic, individual or groups showing strength, agility and flexibility.
  6. Acrobatic Gymnastics: Balances, throws and teamwork combined into spectacular routines.
  7. Cheerleading: Dynamic, athletic and energetic routines.


National Level

Competitive Gymnastics comprises a range of Gymsports with levels that enable participants to compete at Club, State, National and International levels .The different Gymsports have their own gymnastics movement style, regulations and code of points. Regardless of the level of competition you choose you will develop incredible skills for fitness, performance, and competition that are transferable across the different Gymsports.


International Level

Athletes who compete internationally are individuals who have been identified as capable of performing on the world stage, typically the Olympics, World Championships and Commonwealth Games. This group of athletes are part of a High Performance Program, and are devoted to their sport and the pursuit of excellence.

High Performance Programs currently support Men’s Artistic, Women’s Artistic, Rhythmic and Trampoline Gymnastics, as these are the four Gymsports which offer a pathway to the Olympic Games. Gymnastics Australia also supports National Squads and National Teams in Aerobic and Acrobatic Gymnastics.

Operating Hours-Gymnastics2

Subscribe to SGAC News